A DUI charge can be devastating for residents of Iowa. If you have been arrested for drunk driving, you might want to know what to expect. You might wonder what happens to your license and if it could be suspended even after a first offense.
What are Iowa’s DUI laws?
Iowa is one of the states that recognizes driving under the influence or DUI as operating while intoxicated or OWI. According to state laws, a person can be arrested and charged if they operate a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs or both.
What happens to a person’s license after a first DUI offense?
A person’s driver’s license may be revoked after a first OWI offense if they are arrested and they fail a chemical test or refuse one altogether. If their BAC is .08 or higher, they are considered as failing the test.
When a person has their driver’s license revoked after their charges and failing a chemical test, the suspension lasts for 180 days. Refusing to take the test, their results in a full year’s suspension.
With a first DUI offense in Iowa, there are certain requirements. The person might be issued a temporary license with restrictions if they need to get to work, school or rehab and counseling. They can apply for this license but will be required to pay a penalty of $200 to the DMV and get an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle. The IID requires the person to blow into it to measure their BAC before their vehicle can be operable.
You can prevent getting a DUI and having your driver’s license revoked. Make arrangements for someone else to drive you if you’ll be drinking. It can keep you and everyone else safer.