SPELLMAN LAW, P.C.
Based In West Des Moines, Iowa, Practicing In Central
Iowa And Throughout The State Of Iowa
Quick Action And Honest Advice

What are Iowa’s involuntary manslaughter laws?

On Behalf of | Dec 20, 2021 | Criminal Defense |

There are many different felony charges a person can face in Iowa. One of those is involuntary manslaughter. While this offense is a lesser charge than murder, it’s a type of homicide that is classified as a felony. If you were arrested on these charges, it’s important to know the laws pertaining to them and how you got there.

How is involuntary manslaughter committed?

A person can be charged with felony charges such as involuntary manslaughter when they cause the death of another person. The crime is considered “involuntary” by the court due to the death being unintentional instead of deliberate. While the charge is lesser than murder, it may still be classified as a felony depending on the circumstances.

How can a person be charged with involuntary manslaughter?

According to Iowa law, felony charges can stick on an involuntary manslaughter charge when a person causes the death of someone else while committing a crime in public. For example, if a person is out on the town binge drinking in a bar for hours and then gets into their car to drive home and mows a person down, killing them, they could be charged with involuntary manslaughter. Because this is a crime that occurs out in public, the person could face felony charges.

Iowa’s laws also state that a person can be charged with felony involuntary manslaughter if their actions that are very likely to lead to serious injury or death actually do result in death. The person can face felony charges even if they never intended to kill or even injury another person.

What are the penalties for involuntary manslaughter?

As a class D felony, involuntary manslaughter in Iowa carries serious penalties for a conviction. If a person is convicted, they can face a mandatory prison sentence of up to five years and a fine ranging from $750 at minimum to a maximum of $7,500.

Although involuntary manslaughter is not as serious a crime as murder, it should be taken very seriously. If you have been arrested on these charges, you need to take action and fight back to clear your name.