Iowa state law treats the sale of cocaine harshly. The federal classification of cocaine is a Schedule I narcotic, and the penalties for selling cocaine vary according to the amount of cocaine you possess. Consequences of possession can range from jail time, fines and more depending on the weight of the cocaine confiscated, the presumed intent and the involvement of minors.
Jail time and fines
Any amount of cocaine places you at risk of a felony charge. Sale of 500 grams or fewer results in a Class C felony and fines between $1,000 and $50,000.
For cocaine weighing from 500 grams up to 5 kilograms, the state charges you with a Class B felony. Fines start at $5,000 and go as high as $100,000.
Individuals accused of moving over 5 kilograms of cocaine also face a Class B felony but higher penalties. For example, you could go to prison for up to 50 years and receive a fine of $1 million.
Involvement of minors or subsequent offenses
Penalties increase if drug sales involve minors. A conviction will send you to prison for a minimum of five years. A conviction for such a crime within 1,000 feet of a school, playground, or school bus demands a minimum of 10 years imprisonment.
A court could triple the penalties for your current offense if you have prior offenses. As a result, people with criminal histories experience a great risk of imprisonment for drug crimes.
Risk of federal prosecution
A defendant arrested under the suspicion of selling drugs across state lines is common due to Iowa’s central location. Federal law enforcement agencies frequently partner with local police departments to pursue people suspected of moving drugs in and out of the state.
Drug raids by multi-agency task forces can result in dozens of arrests. The criminal justice system sorts out who will face state or federal charges by the evidence gathered at the scene and on each person and the individual’s personal criminal history.